Hamilton Weather Forecast, India vs New Zealand 1st ODI: Will rain spoilsport in series opener

After sweeping the T20I series 5-0, India will look to extend their dominance in the ODI series as well when they face New Zealand in the 3-match series opener in Hamilton on Wednesday.

India will be without their regular opener Rohit Sharma, who has been ruled out of the remainder of the New Zealand tour due to a calf injury, and his absence, Test openers Prithvi Shaw and Mayank Agarwal will make their ODI debuts, as confirmed by skipper Virat Kohli in the press conference.

KL Rahul, who has been in an extraordinary form will continue to bat in the middle. It will be interesting to see if Rishabh Pant will get a chance in the ODI series as the wicketkeeper-batsman was made to warm the bench in the 5-match T20I series with KL Rahul keeping the wickets.

Going into the series, both the teams have been hit by injury concerns. While India is without Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan, New Zealand have lost their skipper Kane Williamson for the first 2 ODIs and pacers Trent Boult, Matt Henry, and Lockie Ferguson.

New Zealand have called in Mark Chapman as a replacement for Kane Williamson. They also welcome a fit-again Tom Latham who will captain the Black Caps in the 1st 2 ODIs. This will be New Zealand’s first ODI since their World Cup final heartbreak where they lost to England on boundary counts after the scores in Super Over were tied.

The match is scheduled to start at 7.30 am IST and the weather is expected to remain clear throughout the day, according to Accuweather. The temperature is expected to hover between 24-14 degree Celsius.

India vs New Zealand – ODI squads

India Squad: Virat Kohli (captain), KL Rahul (wicketkeeper), Mayank Agarwal, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Navdeep Saini, Mohammed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Prithvi Shaw, Kuldeep Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Kedar Jadhav, Shardul Thakur.

New Zealand Squad: Tom Latham (wicketkeeper/captain), Martin Guptill, Henry Nicholls, Ross Taylor, Mark Chapman, James Neesham, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Hamish Bennett, Ish Sodhi, Tom Blundell, Kyle Jamieson, Scott Kuggeleijn.

Get real-time alerts and all the news on your phone with the all-new India Today app. Download from

  • Andriod App
  • IOS App

Source link